All in a Day

For Queens birthday weekend I decided to do a trip to Wanaka and Queenstown. I love exploring the beautiful South Island and sometimes it is not about taking photographs , but just being out there taking in the scenery and living life. On this day I only took two photographs all day and I am hoping they did not turn out too badly. I am not quite done with them in Post but the itch to get them out there is overwhelming.

 

Sunrise over Queenstown

This shot was taken from a lookout in the Crown Ranges just outside of Queenstown

The Crown Range mountains lies to the east of the Wakatipu Basin in Otago, New Zealand. It is noted for two features, the Cardrona Alpine Resort, on the slopes of the 1900 metre Mt. Cardrona, and a highway, known as the Crown Range Road (formerly State Highway 89), which winds steeply between Arrow Junction, south of Arrowtown, and Wanaka to the north.

Travelling from Arrowtown towards Cromwell the Crown Range Road starts at the bottom of the Zig zag. This steep and winding climb goes to the Crown Terrace. The Crown Terrace is a large flat and fertile area capable of growing grain crops.

Queenstown from the Crown Ranges

 

Crown Ranges Sunrise

 

 

Sunset over lake Pukaki

 

Lake Pukaki

 

This photograph was on my way home stopping for a break next to the road. Lake Pukaki is one of my favourite area’s, but I have never been lucky enough to get a shot where I have clear skies and a great view of Mount Cook. Lady luck was smiling at me on this whole trip and I got this sunset view as reward. I must say when I purchased my 16mm I had really thought there would only be a handful of times I would use it, but I also knew that every time I was out I always regretted selling the 17-40mm F4. That wide angle paid for itself on this trip and it will now go everywhere with me.

 

Mt Cook Sunst

Let me know what you think or just leave a comment and remember if you click on an image you should see a larger view. Better yet follow me on Flickr and see them in full view

Leave a Reply

