London

The City of London

The Palace of Westminster is the meeting place of the House of Commons and the House of Lords, the two houses of the Parliament of the United Kingdom. Commonly known as the Houses of Parliament after its tenants, the Palace lies on the Middlesex bank of the River Thames in the City of Westminster, in central London

Big Ben and Houses of Parliament

Now I have no creative bones in my body so when I saw a similar image to this one at Art People Gallery  I was certain I could create my own version. For a week I have been trying to take a decent image of Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, but the images I took were flat and boring. By simply stepping back a few steps and shooting the image through the archway  it added a frame, composition, leading  lines and suddenly it became interesting.

 

Big Ben & Houses of Parliament

On a very chilly evening I got lucky with this semi pink sunset. I just did not get the shot I wanted by opening up the lens to F2.8 as it captured the thousands of tourists, busses and cars passing by distracting from what I wanted to capture. So I tried a few longer exposures and finally settled on  a 20s exposure at F22. The long exposure averaged out the cars and busses and reduced the tourists to the occasional ghost image. I did not really care for the light trails so I cropped them out.

Purple Ben

Who said you cannot get a clear image with 2x extender!

 

 

London Eye

The London Eye is a giant Ferris wheel on the South Bank of the River Thames in London. The entire structure is 135 metres (443 ft) tall and the wheel has a diameter of 120 metres (394 ft). When erected in 1999 it was the world’s tallest Ferris wheel. Its height was surpassed by the 160 m (520 ft) Star of Nanchang in 2006, the 165 m (541 ft) Singapore Flyer in 2008, and the 167.6 m (550 ft) High Roller (Las Vegas) in 2014. Supported by an A-frame on one side only, unlike the taller Nanchang and Singapore wheels, the Eye is described by its operators as “the world’s tallest cantilevered observation wheel

I really liked the colours of the scene and especially the reflections in the water. However the red lights are not constant and only appear occasionally. Timing was everything to get this shot, but it was worth it. The motion blur on the wheel is deliberate as I was going for the longer exposure to flatten out the river, get the reflections in the water and just add some illusion of movement.

 

Let me know what you think or just leave a comment and remember if you click on an image you should see a larger view. Better yet follow me on Flickr and see them in full view. 

Leave a Reply

