Some Views of Christchurch

It has been a while since I have had the Big D out so I picked up the camera and thought to explore Christchurch a bit. I sometimes feel people only talk about the aftermath of the quakes and I get the feeling they forget in what a beautiful city we have.  The Garden city is currently getting a bit of a re-make, but it still has some impressive views

Christchurch Pink

Yip this is what we get in Christchurch on many mornings. If the tide is low you get glimmerings of light in the little streams reflecting those gorgeous early rays as day breaks.

I always love this type of shot. Seeing the subject in the reflection of the water makes it very interesting for me from a pure technical aspect. However as this shot was about a 3sec exposure and the water is actually moving as the tide is coming in, I consider myself lucky to even get that reflection. Now if only I was not late for that pink sunrise this could have really been an epic reflection

Calm sails

Sails

I started to experiment with Time Lapse and although this is not the completed time lapse, it is the last frame of the scene… might have potential

Christchurch

Let me know what you think or just leave a comment and remember if you click on an image you should see a larger view. Better yet follow me on Flickr and see them in full view

3 responses to “Some Views of Christchurch

  1. My god that is a GORGEOUS sky – was that Saturday? I was sadly probably awake and trying to be asleep. Good on you for getting up, those are stunning shots. And I love your softer pastel treatment of the yacht, nice job 🙂

    • That sky was custom ordered for me! However I think need to be brave and go stand in the water to get a better angle. I really have been chasing that shot for a while now

Leave a Reply

